The EBOO studies compared
How do the EBOO studies differ in what they did? Each row puts one study's design, participants, procedure, comparison groups, and reported adverse events side by side, as the paper itself reports them.
Studies of EBO2 / EBOO given to people
Reports of the procedure as given to patients, and a review of them by its developers. Laboratory and device-development work on the circuit is under background science.
| Study | Year | Design | Participants | Ozone concentration | Blood volume | Session length | Sessions | Comparator or arms | Adverse events as reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bennett et al. 2025 Full text | 2025 | Case report | 1 person | Not reported | Around 2 liters of blood processed in one treatment (clinic protocol) | Not reported | Two distinct series of three sequential EBOO treatments; urinary toxin/creatinine ratios monitored at baseline, after series I and after series II | Single patient: EBOO to remove mycotoxins, heavy metals and environmental toxins; an 88-year-old female with chronic anemia | No adverse-events section. The authors note a slight fall in hemoglobin after the first series (7.4 to 6.8 g/dL; 7.5 after the second) and that after the second series she felt worse, more tired than after the first, so treatment turned to her anemia; they do not attribute either to EBOO. |
| Rowen et al. 2023 Full text | 2023 | Measurement of ozone uptake in patients receiving ozone dialysis during their routine treatment | 12 people | 10–60 μg/mL (most measurements at 30–40 μg/mL); gas flow rate 0.9 L/min | Not reported | exactly 1 hour | Not reported | Patients receiving ozone dialysis as routine therapy (n = 12): Ozone dialysis during routine treatment; 85 measurements made in total | Authors state that at least 400 sessions of ozone dialysis were performed with no untoward effects observed |
| Di Paolo et al. 2005 clinical and biological implications Abstract only | 2005 | Review | No participants of its own (review) | 0.5-1 microg/ml oxygen, in an oxygen-ozone mixture | Up to 4800 ml of heparinized blood in 1 h of extracorporeal circulation | 1 h per session | 14 sessions over 7 weeks (the standard therapeutic cycle) | Not reported | Treatment of up to 4800 ml of heparinized blood is described as done without technical or clinical problems |
| Di Paolo et al. 2005 peripheral artery disease Abstract only | 2005 | Randomized controlled clinical trial: 28 patients with PAD randomized to EBOO or intravenous prostacyclin | 28 people | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 210 EBOO treatments (per-patient schedule not stated in the abstract) |
| No side effects or complications were recorded during the 210 EBOO treatments |
| Di Paolo et al. 2002 Abstract only | 2002 | A case of necrotizing fasciitis in a dialysis patient is described | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Dialysis patient with necrotizing fasciitis: Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO), tried because traditional therapies were unsuccessful | Not reported |
| Di Paolo et al. 2000 Abstract only | 2000 | Preliminary report of EBOO used in man | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | six treatments (volunteer author); not stated for the patients |
| Reported as without side-effects |
Safety and adverse events
Harms reported after ozone therapy, and studies of how ozone exposure affects health.
| Study | Year | Design | Participants | Ozone concentration | Blood volume | Session length | Sessions | Comparator or arms | Adverse events as reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cacciatore et al. 2026 Full text | 2026 | Umbrella review of systematic reviews with meta-analyses of randomized controlled trials | Total not recorded | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Included meta-analyses (n = 7): Ozone therapy compared with non-active controls (placebo, sham, saline, or standard care) in chronic periodontitis, COVID-19, diabetic foot ulcers, and third-molar surgery | Safety outcomes were inconsistently reported across the included reviews, and the data did not allow firm conclusions on adverse events |
| Casale et al. 2026 Abstract only | 2026 | Scoping review of documented adverse events of oxygen-ozone autohaemotherapy, following PRISMA-ScR guidelines | No participants of its own (review) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Rare but potentially serious adverse events, documented predominantly in case reports |
| Cortez et al. 2026 Full text | 2026 | Case report based on medical record analysis, with a literature review on ozone therapy | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | A single session | Single patient: A single session of ozone therapy with a physical therapist, 15 days before admission, for right shoulder pain; followed by significant clinical worsening | Septic arthritis of the shoulder after ozone therapy; the authors state that the association is temporal and that the report does not establish a causal relationship |
| Elmas Dal 2026 Full text | 2026 | Case report (single author) | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: Ozone therapy at a private clinic two days before admission, given to the right and left paravertebral regions of the back and lumbar area and the front of the neck | Pneumocephalus and meningitis after ozone therapy, which the author considers likely due to a contaminated needle that advanced from the epidural space into the subarachnoid space |
| Singh et al. 2026 Abstract only | 2026 | Case report | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: 64-year-old woman: A session of intravenous ozone therapy | Cerebral arterial gas embolism, diagnosed from the clinical presentation, after intravenous ozone therapy; the authors list it among the potential complications of the procedure |
| Velluto et al. 2026 Full text | 2026 | Case report with a systematic literature review | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Five intradiscal sessions in March 2022 | Single patient: Five sessions of intradiscal oxygen-ozone therapy in March 2022 for an L4-L5 disc herniation, with partial relief at first | Lactobacillus iners spondylodiscitis after intradiscal oxygen-ozone therapy; the authors state a direct causal link cannot be proven but call the association plausible |
| Franzini et al. 2025 glass bottles instead of PVC Full text | 2025 | Mathematical modelling with ordinary differential equations, drawing on laboratory experiments and published data; the text calls the paper a commentary | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| The authors argue that red-cell rupture releases lactate dehydrogenase and methaemoglobin, which contribute to inflammatory responses; no adverse events in patients are reported |
| Franzini et al. 2025 spine disc herniation Full text | 2025 | Mixed-method study: CT imaging of one patient, biophysical diffusion modelling, and a meta-analysis of clinical studies | Not reported | 15 µg/mL (imaging case, 20 mL paravertebral intramuscular injection) | Not reported | Not reported | Imaging case: CT after six sessions of intramuscular/paravertebral injection |
| The authors list discitis, infection, bleeding, nerve injury, and damage to the annulus fibrosus as risks of the intradiscal route; no adverse event is described for the imaging patient |
| Gante et al. 2025 Full text | 2025 | Case report | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: Subcutaneous ozone injection as an alternative therapy for seasonal allergies; symptoms began about 10 minutes later | Acute, reversible encephalopathy following subcutaneous ozone injection at acupuncture points in the face |
| Shamohammadi et al. 2025 Full text | 2025 | Case report | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Two sessions, a month apart; the second at another center | Single patient: Ozone therapy for lumbar disc herniation: a second session at another center, a month after the first | Pneumoretroperitoneum and pneumoperitoneum, diagnosed as secondary to ozone therapy |
| Wong et al. 2025 Full text | 2025 | Case report | 1 person | Not reported | 150 mL of ozone-infused venous blood (autotransfused) | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: Elective private outpatient intravenous ozone therapy session: autotransfusion of 150 mL of ozone-infused venous blood with 500 IU of heparin, 'to boost her immunity' | Neurological complications, including ischemic infarcts and persistent cognitive deficits, following intravenous ozone therapy in a previously healthy patient |
| de Araújo et al. 2024 Full text | 2024 | Critical review of clinical trials, described in its methods as a scope review | No participants of its own (review) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Included clinical studies (n = 27): Medical ozone for musculoskeletal pain, mostly by minimally invasive local injection; two studies used major autohemotherapy or intravenous routes | Few adverse events in the 27 studies, mostly mild and then moderate; the authors consider the intervention safe |
| Khosravi et al. 2024 Full text | 2024 | Case report | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: Lumbar intradiscal oxygen-ozone injection at a local pain clinic; symptoms began during the injection | Gas embolism and stroke, which the authors describe as complications of intradiscal and intramuscular injections during oxygen-ozone therapy |
| Pan et al. 2023 Abstract only | 2023 | Time-series study of particulate matter air pollutants and hospitalization risk for systemic lupus erythematosus | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Shen et al. 2022 Full text | 2022 | Prospective randomized controlled study | 118 people | 20 µg/ml in the first week, 30 µg/ml in the second week, and 40 µg/ml in the third week | 100 ml of blood | Not reported | Three times a week for 3 weeks |
| No adverse complications (such as allergic reaction, puncture point infection, hypotension, myocardial infarction, blood contamination, or abnormal blood potassium) occurred in either group during treatment and follow-up |
| Haggiag et al. 2021 Abstract only | 2021 | Three case reports with a review of the literature | 3 people | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Central nervous system toxicity after ozone-based treatments, which the authors term ozone-induced encephalopathy (OIE) |
| Salaria et al. 2021 Full text | 2021 | Case report (the title calls it a scoping review) | 1 person | 30% ozone (20 ml), as written | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: Percutaneous instillation of 30% ozone (20 ml) with 40 mg of Depo-Medrol, a long-acting steroid, into the L3/L4 and L4/L5 disc spaces | Mycobacterial spinal infection after intradiscal ozone therapy, which the authors attribute most likely to direct inoculation of the mycobacteria |
| Bingham et al. 2020 Abstract only | 2020 | Case report | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: 50-year-old woman: Ozone infusion therapy: her blood drawn and ozone gas injected into the sample | Syncope and a non-ST elevation myocardial infarction immediately after an ozone infusion |
| Re et al. 2020 Abstract only | 2020 | Narrative review | No participants of its own (review) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | The authors attribute most safety issues in published case reports to infections or traumatic reactions due to malpractice |
| Shahi et al. 2020 Full text | 2020 | Case report and review of literature | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: Fluoroscopically guided percutaneous ozone treatment for degenerated disc disease at L4-L5 | L4-L5 spondylodiscitis caused by Mycobacterium abscessus following ozone therapy, which the authors call a noncondoned method of lumbar disc management |
| Chirchiglia et al. 2019 Abstract only | 2019 | Case report (PubMed publication type) | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: elderly woman: Oxygen-ozone therapy for lumbar pain caused by disk protrusion | Suspected massive pulmonary embolism followed by sudden death, which the authors believe an intradiskal injection probably caused |
| Freund et al. 2019 Abstract only | 2019 | Case report (PubMed publication type) | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: 34-year-old man with chronic neck pain: Regular cervical paravertebral ozone injections | Multifocal stroke from ozone gas emboli |
| He et al. 2019 Full text | 2019 | Case report | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: Percutaneous intradiscal injection of oxygen-ozone at a local hospital, March 2018 | Anterior spinal cord syndrome and ST-elevation myocardial infarction, which the authors judged most likely caused by air embolism |
| Beyaz et al. 2018 Full text | 2018 | Case report | 1 person | 20 μg/mL | Not reported | Not reported | Planned for 3 days (8 mL per injection); the event followed the second day's injection | Single patient: Epidural oxygen-ozone injection through a Racz catheter placed at L5-S1 for epidural lysis; on day 2, 20 mL (20 μg/mL) was injected instead of the planned 8 mL | Cardiopulmonary arrest and pneumoencephaly, which the authors call a rare but life-threatening complication of epidural oxygen-ozone therapy |
| Tang et al. 2017 Full text | 2017 | Case report | 1 person | Dose unknown; ozone combined with the extracted blood at a 1:1 ratio (as described by the patient) | 100 mL of extracted blood (as described by the patient) | Not reported | Received for 9 days prior to admission | Single patient: Ozone autohemotherapy to treat hypertension and diabetes, for 9 days prior to admission | Sinus arrest in a hypertension patient with chronic kidney disease, caused by hyperkalemia after ozone therapy |
| Andrés-Cano et al. 2016 Full text | 2016 | Case report and review of the literature | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: C6-C7 intradiscal oxygen-ozone chemonucleolysis at an outside hospital for a cervical disc herniation, ten days before admission | Cervical spondylodiscitis as a complication of oxygen-ozone therapy, followed by cervical instability that the authors attribute likely to the wide laminectomy |
| Vaiano et al. 2016 Full text | 2016 | Case report (published as a brief communication) | 1 person | 27 μg/mL | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: L5-S1 injection of an oxygen-ozone mixture, 4 ml intradiscal and 11 ml periganglionic, at an ozone concentration of 27 μg/mL; blindness began about 1 minute later | Transient cortical blindness from ischemia of both occipito-parietal lobes; the authors support air embolism as the most likely cause and state that the pathophysiology remains elusive |
| Vanni et al. 2016 Abstract only | 2016 | Series of patients who underwent lumbar microsurgery since 2013, compared by prior intraforaminal treatment | 186 people | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 16 applications in an 8-week period ('standard therapy'), stated for 'these patients' without separating the ozone and steroid groups |
| Hard adhesions, with the nerve root contracted and adherent to the dural sac or disc, found at surgery only in patients previously given intraforaminal ozone |
| Üreyen et al. 2015 Abstract only | 2015 | Case report: the authors discuss a single case | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: 46-year-old man: Ozonated autohemotherapy that morning at a private clinic, for the revitalization and regeneration of tissues | Myocardial infarction after ozonated autohemotherapy, which the authors present as a possible complication of ozone therapy not reported before |
| Uzun et al. 2012 Full text | 2012 | Case study (single patient) | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Topical ozone and major autohemotherapy for seven days, then daily intralesional injections; the event followed the second injection | Single patient: Ozone treatments at an ozone therapy center from a physical medicine and rehabilitation specialist: topical ozone and major autohemotherapy, then intralesional injections | Severe foot necrosis and infection after intralesional ozone injections for a non-healing wound |
| Steppan et al. 2010 Abstract only | 2010 | Random-effects meta-analyses of oxygen/ozone treatment of herniated discs | Total not recorded | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Patients treated with oxygen/ozone, pooled: Oxygen/ozone treatment of herniated discs, results for almost 8,000 patients from multiple centers | Pooled likelihood of complications of 0.064% |
| Gazzeri et al. 2007 Abstract only | 2007 | Case report and clinical discussion | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: 57-year-old man previously treated with oxygen-ozone therapy, presenting with low back and bilateral pain | Fulminant septicemia that the authors describe as a rare and fatal complication of oxygen-ozone therapy for a herniated lumbar disc |
| Faustini et al. 2005 Abstract only | 2005 | Retrospective cohort study | 31 people | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hepatitis C virus transmission among patients given ozone therapy; the authors conclude that transmission may occur during medical procedures with limited bleeding |
| Corea et al. 2004 Abstract only | 2004 | Case report | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: Oxygen-ozone therapy, during which a vertebrobasilar stroke occurred | Stroke during medical oxygen-ozone application, which the authors describe as the first reported case |
| Lo Giudice et al. 2004 Abstract only | 2004 | Observational case report | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: 45-year-old woman: Intradiscal and periganglionic injection of an oxygen-ozone (O2O3) gas mixture for lumbar disk herniation | Acute bilateral intraocular hemorrhages after injection of an oxygen-ozone mixture |
| Marchetti et al. 2000 Abstract only | 2000 | Case report (PubMed publication type) | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Single patient: Oxygen-ozone (O2/O3) therapy administered by autohemotransfusion for psoriasis | Death caused by gas embolism during oxygen-ozone therapy administered by autohemotransfusion |
| Lippmann 1989 Abstract only | 1989 | Critical review of the health effects of ozone | No participants of its own (review) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | The review concerns inhaled ambient ozone; it reports measurable transient changes in lung function, respiratory symptoms, and airway inflammation in healthy people at current peak ambient O3 concentrations |
| Calabrese et al. 1977 Abstract only | 1977 | Theoretical model | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Ozone therapy more broadly
Other ozone methods, such as major autohemotherapy, that clinics cite in support of EBO2. A result for one method does not transfer automatically to another.
| Study | Year | Design | Participants | Ozone concentration | Blood volume | Session length | Sessions | Comparator or arms | Adverse events as reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kuculmez 2026 Full text | 2026 | Retrospective medical records review study | 40 people | 20 μg/mL (session 1), 25 μg/mL (session 2), 30 μg/mL (sessions 3 to 10) | 100 cc of blood | Ozonated blood reinfused within 15 min (reinfusion step only) | 10 sessions, 2–3 times per week | All analyzed patients (single group) (n = 40): Major ozone autohemotherapy (MBO), 10 sessions | Not reported |
| Franzini et al. 2025 SIOOT recommendations Abstract only | 2025 | Recommendations document from a scientific society (SIOOT) on applying oxygen-ozone therapy | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| He et al. 2024 Abstract only | 2024 | Prospective, randomized, controlled clinical trial | 73 people | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Not reported |
| Migliorini et al. 2024 Abstract only | 2024 | Meta-analysis comparing intra-articular injections of hyaluronic acid (HA) versus ozone in patients with knee osteoarthritis | 424 people, pooled from the included trials | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Not reported |
| Serra et al. 2023 Full text | 2023 | Evidence and gaps map (EGM) of clinical studies of ozone therapy in COVID-19 | 271 people, across the studies it reviews | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Authors report very few adverse events: mild meteorism (sensation of gas) and epistaxis that was associated with the use of heparin |
| Valdenassi et al. 2022 Full text | 2022 | Case report | 1 person | 45 μg/ml | 100 ml of blood | Not reported | One session/week for a total of six discontinued weeks in two routes, with 10 days lag (total ozone dosage 4.5 mg per session) | 69-year-old female outpatient with primary Sjögren syndrome (pSS): Oxygen-ozone autohemotherapy (O2-O3 AHT); see protocol | Conclusion describes the approach as being without significant side effects; no individual adverse events are described |
| Wen et al. 2022 Full text | 2022 | Systematic review and meta-analysis, registered in INPLASY | Total not recorded | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | No adverse events associated with ozone treatment have been reported |
| Tirelli et al. 2021 Full text | 2021 | Clinical multicenter case series study, described as a brief report | 100 people | 40-50 mg/150-200 ml ozone | 150/200 ml blood | Not reported | Usually 2-3 major treatments each week for 2–3 weeks | Patients with PASC-related fatigue (n = 100): Oxygen-ozone autohemotherapy | Not reported |
| Rowen 2019 Full text | 2019 | Review concentrating on ozone therapy (OT) as a treatment for infection | No participants of its own (review) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | The review cites Jacobs as reporting ozone therapy to be exceptionally safe, with a complication rate of only 0.7 per 100,000 treatments, virtually all due to improper application |
| Niu et al. 2018 Full text | 2018 | Patients randomly divided into 4 groups, with 20 in each group | 80 people | 20 μg/ml (Group B), 40 μg/ml (Group C), 60 μg/ml (Group D) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Not reported |
| Liu et al. 2015 Abstract only | 2015 | Review of randomised controlled trials comparing ozone therapy with sham ozone therapy or any other interventions for foot ulcers in people with diabetes | 212 people, pooled from the included trials | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | In the one trial of ozone versus antibiotics, no side effects were observed in either group (for the other two trials, the pooled adverse-event result is under outcomes) |
| Paoli et al. 2013 Abstract only | 2013 | Intra-subjects experimental design with repeated measures | 15 people | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Not reported |
| Borrelli et al. 2012 Full text | 2012 | Single-center, randomized, open, controlled trial | 140 people | 50 micrograms/mL gas | 225mL of blood | The whole procedure approximately 40 minutes (reinfusion about 15-20 minutes) | Out-patient, twice weekly for the first 7 weeks; twice monthly for a further three months; then monthly until the 12th month |
| Only temporary face redness in a small percentage of the patients (3%) during treatment |
| Magalhaes et al. 2012 Full text | 2012 | Systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials | Total not recorded | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6 reports of side effects related to ozone infusion were found in the review |
| Elvis et al. 2011 Full text | 2011 | Clinical review | No participants of its own (review) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | The abstract states that the effects of ozone therapy are proven, consistent, safe and with minimal and preventable side effects (a statement of the review, not adverse-event data) |
| Onishchenko et al. 2011 Abstract only | 2011 | Analysis of treatment results in 3 patient groups (179 patients, 209 eyes) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Patients with endogenous uveitis, 3 groups combined (n = 179): Treated in 3 groups, including the authors' modification of plasmapheresis; the abstract does not describe each group's treatment | Not reported |
Background science and mechanism studies
How ozone acts on blood and cells, how blood filters work, the laboratory and device-development studies behind the EBOO circuit, and studies that measure markers in the blood rather than how patients fare. None of these shows whether EBO2 helps patients.
| Study | Year | Design | Participants | Ozone concentration | Blood volume | Session length | Sessions | Comparator or arms | Adverse events as reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clark et al. 2026 Abstract only | 2026 | Review (the Europe PMC record is labelled Review) | No participants of its own (review) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Rundgren et al. 2025 Full text | 2025 | 4-hour swine sepsis model: P. aeruginosa infusion with or without extracorporeal ozone treatment (groups allocated) | 13 animals | Below 100 g/m3 (gas flow 15 mL/min) | Approximately 2 L of blood over the 4-h experimental period | Mean (SD) 134 (67) min | Not reported |
| The authors state the system was compatible with an intensive care environment and did not induce any observable physiological adverse effects |
| Sitoe et al. 2025 Full text | 2025 | Review of strategies for applying ozone (O3) to grains and end products, focusing on pest control, fungal inactivation, mycotoxin reduction, and overall food safety | No participants of its own (review) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | From its operator-health section (industrial exposure, not a clinical study): the review says the human exposure limit is based on studies showing ozone's adverse health effects, including irritation and damage to the mucous membranes of the eyes and respiratory system |
| Gianos et al. 2024 Abstract only | 2024 | Scientific statement reviewing the history of lipoprotein apheresis, mechanisms of action, cardiovascular and renal outcomes data, indications, and options for treatment | No participants of its own (review) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| König et al. 2022 Full text | 2022 | Pilot study of six consecutive patients given preventive ozone high-dose therapy (OHT) | 6 people | 70 μg/mL | 200 mL of patient’s blood withdrawn per pass | Approximately one hour for one L1 (10 passes) | 2 OHT applications over a period of 1 week | Six patients given preventive 10-pass OHT (n = 6): OHT for preventive purposes, twice within one week | No adverse events are described for the six patients. The introduction says of major autohemotherapy generally that it has been carried out “without side-effects and with therapeutic results, albeit poorly documented” |
| Skorup et al. 2022 Full text | 2022 | Proof-of-concept study of ozone's effect on viable E. coli in human whole blood and of the system's technical feasibility and physiological tolerability | 10 animals | < 100 g/m3 (gas flow < 100 mL/min) | Not reported | 30 min, started after 1.5 h of the sepsis model | Not reported |
| The authors report the system was manageable in an intensive care setting and caused no signs of physiological adverse effects in circulation, pulmonary artery pressure, or temperature |
| Mehdi et al. 2021 Abstract only | 2021 | Review that emphasizes the theories of aging and the various levels of molecular damage by oxidative stress | No participants of its own (review) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tahmasebi et al. 2021 Abstract only | 2021 | Before-and-after comparison in patients treated with oxygen-ozone therapy | 20 people | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | twice weekly for 6 months | Relapsing-remitting multiple sclerosis patients treated with ozone (n = 20): Ozone autohemotherapy twice weekly for 6 months | Not reported |
| Izadi et al. 2020 Abstract only | 2020 | Non-controlled study (authors' wording) of ozone autohemotherapy in multiple sclerosis patients | 20 people | 25 ugs/ml | 100 ml of autologous blood | Not reported | Twice per week for 6 months |
| Not reported |
| Scassellati et al. 2020 Full text | 2020 | Review presenting scientific background on ozone (O3) as a potential new strategy to delay neurodegeneration | No participants of its own (review) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | The review states that side effects are minimal and that the World Federation of Ozone therapy (WFOT) estimates the incidence of complications at 0.0007% |
| Tsuzuki et al. 2016 Full text | 2016 | The same horses were used as controls and for treatment | 10 animals | 25 µg/ml | 400 ml of blood | Not reported | Conducted on each horse on 8/20/2014 | Ten gelding Thoroughbred non-race horses (n = 10): Ozonated autohemotherapy (OAHT); the same horses were used as controls | No abnormal complete blood counts, biochemical tests or clinical signs were observed during the study period |
| Travagli et al. 2010 Abstract only | 2010 | Comparison of the ozone-transfer efficiency of four hydrophilic dialysis filters and one hydrophobic gas-exchange device (GED) | No participants reported (laboratory study) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| No patients or animals were treated; the authors state that dialysis filters may release toxic compounds harmful for patients because their materials may not be ozone-resistant |
| Bocci et al. 2009 Abstract only | 2009 | Review (publication type label on the Europe PMC record) | No participants of its own (review) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | States that single ozone doses can be used therapeutically in selected human diseases without any toxicity or side effects |
| Bocci et al. 2007 Abstract only | 2007 | In vitro efficiency test of a new gas exchange device | No participants reported (laboratory study) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | L001 gas exchange device (GED): Tested using a buffered saline solution containing KI, varying several parameters | Not reported |
| Bocci 2004 Full text | 2004 | Review, which the author says was written “in a personal way” to express “the reflections of an old ozone therapist” | No participants of its own (review) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Four deaths recorded due to pulmonary embolism during direct intravenous administration (of O2/O3 gas) |
| Tylicki et al. 2004 Full text | 2004 | Controlled, single-blind, cross-over study | 12 people | 50 microg/ml | 250 ml of the patients' blood per ozonated session | Not reported | Nine control sessions (oxygen only) followed by nine sessions of ozonated autohemotherapy (O3-AHT) |
| No patient demonstrated symptoms of acute infectious disease during the study |
| Bocci et al. 2001 Abstract only | 2001 | Comparative analysis of several oxygenator-ozonators for exposing human blood to oxygen-ozone ex vivo, and selection of one type | No participants reported (laboratory study) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Not reported |
| Bocci et al. 1999 Abstract only | 1999 | Feasibility study of exposing blood ex vivo to oxygen-ozone through a gas exchanger: saline tests, swine blood in vitro, then experiments in sheep | None (animal study) | 20 to 40 microg/ml in the sheep (the higher concentrations tested) | Not reported | Up to 50 min of extracorporeal circulation in sheep | Not reported |
| The sheep showed no adverse effects, even after 50 min of extracorporeal circulation at 20 to 40 microg/ml |
How this table is made
Each row comes from a study card. A research pass read the paper's abstract, or its full text where one was open to read, and recorded what the paper reports about its design, groups, procedure, outcomes, and harms, with the exact words for every item. A script then checked each quote against the saved text of the page it cites, or, for a quote whose cited page was not saved, against the other pages saved for the same study. Each study's own page shows every item with a link to the page it cites.
What this table cannot tell you
- Parameters are in each paper's own units and are not converted. Papers mix units such as mg/L, µg/mL, and mL/min, and converting them would add errors of our own.
- A study that does not report a parameter is not the same as a study that used none. "Not reported" means the text we read does not say; abstract-only rows report less than full-text rows.
- Studies differ in method, population, and size, so a row is not a ranking, and a result in one group of studies does not carry over to another.
Read further
- All studies we track: every paper with our notes on what it found and what limits it.
- Does EBO2 work?: how these studies weigh together.
- EBO2 side effects and safety: the harms reported after ozone therapy.
- How many sessions: what clinics and studies say about a course.