Therapeutic Effect of Medical Ozone on Lumbar Disc Herniation

Niu T, Lv C, Yi G, et al. Medical Science Monitor, 2018.

View the abstract on PubMed

Study type
Randomized controlled trial
People studied
80 people
Population
Patients with trauma-induced lumbar disc herniation
Published
2018, Medical Science Monitor
Identifiers
PMID 29611536, DOI 10.12659/msm.903243
Group
Ozone therapy more broadly

What the authors reported

In 80 patients randomized to control or low, medium (40 ug/mL), or high (60 ug/mL) concentrations of medical ozone, the medium concentration produced the greatest disc retraction and reduced inflammatory markers, while the highest concentration increased inflammatory marker expression instead of reducing it.

What limits this result

Single-center trial; the abstract does not describe blinding; biochemical and imaging surrogate endpoints are emphasized alongside clinical pain scores.

Other ozone methods, such as major autohemotherapy, that clinics cite in support of EBO2. A result for one method does not transfer automatically to another. One study rarely settles a medical question; our guides weigh each paper against the rest of the evidence.

How the study was done

Design
Patients randomly divided into 4 groups, with 20 in each group
Setting
Department of Spine Surgery, Jining First People's Hospital, Jining, Shandong, China (mainland)
Read from
Read from the full text of the paper. Read on September 28, 2026.

Sources: Full text on PubMed Central, Abstract on PubMed

Study arms

Each group as the paper describes it.
GroupParticipantsWhat they received
Group A (control)Not reportedConventional drug treatment without any other intervention
Group B (low ozone)Not reportedMedical ozone injection at 20 μg/ml, by CT-guided puncture of the intervertebral discs
Group C (medium ozone)Not reportedMedical ozone injection at 40 μg/ml, by CT-guided puncture of the intervertebral discs
Group D (high ozone)Not reportedMedical ozone injection at 60 μg/ml, by CT-guided puncture of the intervertebral discs

Source: Full text on PubMed Central

Procedure as reported

Ozone concentration
20 μg/ml (Group B), 40 μg/ml (Group C), 60 μg/ml (Group D)The medical ozone injection (20 μg/ml in Group B, 40 μg/ml in Group C, and 60 μg/ml in Group D) was performed by CT-guided puncture of the intervertebral discs.

In the paper's own units, not converted.

Source: Full text on PubMed Central

What it measured

Disc retraction on CT scan at 6- and 12-month follow-up
All patients showed disc retraction; the medium ozone (40 μg/ml) group showed the greatest disc retraction rate
IL-6, IgM, IgG, VAS and SOD activity over time (upon admission, 6 and 12 months)
IL-6, IgM, IgG, and VAS levels significantly decreased while SOD activity increased among all groups over time (p<0.05)
Area under the ROC curve (AUC) of IL-6, IgG, IgM and SOD, and efficacy (abstract)
AUC values closest to 1 in the medium ozone (40 μg/ml) group compared with other groups (p<0.01); efficacy 35% at 6 months and 85% at 12 monthsThe AUCIL-6, AUCIgG, AUCIgM, and AUCSOD was closest to 1 in the medium medical ozone (40 μg/ml) group compared with other groups (p<0.01), with the highest efficacy at 6 (35%) and 12 (85%) months during follow-up.
AUC of IL-6, IgG, IgM and SOD by group (results section)
AUC values closest to 1 in Group B compared with other groups (p<0.01), indicating the highest efficacy
Treatment efficiency, Group A (control) and Group B (20 μg/ml)
Group A 15% (3/20) at 6 months and 60% (12/20) at 12 months; Group B 20% (4/20) at 6 months and 70% (14/20) at 12 months
Treatment efficiency, Group C (40 μg/ml) and Group D (60 μg/ml)
Group C 35% (7/20) at 6 months and 85% (17/20) at 12 months; Group D 10% (2/20) at 6 months and 55% (11/20) at 12 months
Serum IL-6 compared with the control group (Group A)
Levels in groups B and C decreased, but they increased in group D (P<0.05)
VAS pain score compared with Group A
Scores in Groups B and C decreased, but they increased in group D (P<0.05)

Sources: Abstract on PubMed, Full text on PubMed Central

Follow-up

Measured upon admission and at 6 and 12 months after follow-upThe CT scan and enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA) were used to detect IL-6 level, SOD activity, IgM, and IgG levels upon admission and at 6 and 12 months after follow-up.

Source: Abstract on PubMed

Funding and conflicts

Source of support: departmental sources; conflict of interest: none

Source: Full text on PubMed Central

Where we cite this study

All studies we track · How the studies compare