EBO2 (EBOO) Side Effects and Safety: What Studies, Case Reports, and Regulators Record
EBO2 (also called EBOO) has almost no safety record of its own. Our library classes six papers as studies of EBOO as given to people; four come from the Siena group that developed the method. None attributes an adverse event to the procedure, though one case report notes a fall in hemoglobin and that the patient felt worse after her second series, and none was built to detect uncommon events. We found no published case report of a serious adverse event during EBO2 itself. The serious harms documented with ozone, among them strokes, blindness, heart attacks, infections, and deaths, come from other procedures that put ozone into blood or tissue. This guide sets out what each kind of source records, so a reader can see where the evidence is thin and what to ask about it.
Ozone therapy is not FDA-approved for any condition, and federal regulation calls ozone “a toxic gas with no known useful medical application in specific, adjunctive, or preventive therapy” [18]. Our pillar guide explains the procedure; the case-by-case list of reported harms is in our ozone therapy adverse events guide.
How much EBOO-specific safety data exists
Every paper our library classes as a study of EBOO as given to people, and what it says about adverse events:
| Paper | Design | Size | What it says about adverse events |
|---|---|---|---|
| Di Paolo 2000, Siena [1] | Preliminary report | One volunteer author and several patients | Describes the results as without side effects |
| Di Paolo 2002, Siena [2] | Case report | One dialysis patient with necrotizing fasciitis | Does not address them in the abstract we read |
| Di Paolo 2005, Siena [3] | Randomized trial against prostacyclin | 28 patients; 210 EBOO treatments | No side effects or complications recorded in the EBOO treatments |
| Di Paolo 2005, Siena [4] | Review | More than 1,200 treatments in 82 patients | Describes treating up to 4,800 mL of heparinized blood in an hour without technical or clinical problems |
| Rowen 2023, California [7] | Case series measuring ozone uptake | 85 measurements in 12 patients | Measured ozone uptake, not outcomes; the authors write that they have performed “at least 400 sessions of ozone dialysis with no untoward effects observed” |
| Bennett 2025, New York [6] | Case report | One 88-year-old woman with chronic anemia | Has no adverse-events section; notes that her hemoglobin fell from 7.4 to 6.8 g/dL after the first series (7.5 after the second) and that she felt worse, more tired, after the second series, and attributes neither to EBOO |
The ozone dialysis paper’s 400 sessions are the practitioners’ own statement, not a counted safety record [7]. One related circuit adds little: a six-patient pilot study of 10-pass ozone describes no adverse events [8]. The developers’ 2007 bench test of their gas exchanger used a saline solution and no patients, so it holds no safety data about people [5]. The prostacyclin comparison group’s side effects are not given in the trial’s abstract, and the trial’s full text is behind a paywall [3]. The table under “From our data” below shows the procedure each EBOO paper reports.
Small studies can miss uncommon events, and none of these papers counted events in a way that would give a rate. A 2026 scoping review of autohemotherapy safety concluded that the overall rate of serious adverse events cannot be reliably estimated, for want of registries and of reliable counts of treatments given [21].
What clinics say about side effects
Clinic pages describe mild, short-lived effects. A Pennsylvania clinic says side effects are generally minimal but can include slight fatigue or localized bruising [9]. A California clinic mentions temporary fatigue or dizziness that typically resolves quickly [10]. An Arizona clinic lists brief fatigue, what it calls a detox response in the 24 hours after treatment, and temporary vein discomfort at the IV site as the most common effects [11]. The longest list comes from a Beverly Hills practice whose EBOO page offers a consultation about the procedure without saying it performs it: infection, clotting, bleeding in people taking blood thinners, damage to red blood cells, low blood pressure, fainting, and vein injury, as reported and potential risks [12].
These are statements by medical businesses, three of which sell the procedure. None of the pages gives a number of patients treated or events seen, so they describe what a clinic chooses to say, not what its patients experienced.
Risks specific to an extracorporeal circuit
EBO2 draws blood from a vein in one arm, runs it through an extracorporeal circuit with a filter and gas exchanger, and returns it through a vein in the other arm. The NIH kidney institute’s page on hemodialysis, another procedure that circulates blood outside the body, lists an access that becomes infected or blocked by a blood clot, blood loss if a needle comes out, and a sudden drop in blood pressure during treatment, which it attributes to sudden changes in the body’s water and chemical balance [13]. MedlinePlus, writing for people with a dialysis access, lists bleeding from the access, signs of infection, a fever of 100.3°F (38.0°C) or higher, and a hand that turns cold, numb, or weak among the reasons to call a provider [14]. A temporary IV is not a surgical dialysis access, but the access problems are of the same kind.
The circuit also needs an anticoagulant to keep blood from clotting in the tubing. The EBOO review describes the blood as heparinized [4], and the label of a heparin product approved by FDA warns that bleeding, including fatal bleeding, has occurred with heparin, and lists a history of heparin-induced thrombocytopenia, a serious immune reaction to heparin, among the reasons not to use it [15]. What that means for people who take blood thinners is covered in our blood thinners and medicines guide, and bleeding disorders in our contraindications guide.
The filter matters too. The Siena group that developed EBOO wrote in 1999 that dialysis-type semipermeable membranes were unsuitable for ozone because they are hydrophilic and vulnerable to it, and used ozone-resistant hollow fibers instead [41]. In 2010 the same group tested four dialysis filters, found gas exchange ranging from 0 to 70%, saw ozone alter the fibers, and warned that because their materials may not be ozone-resistant, they may release compounds harmful to patients [42]. FDA’s 2025 warning letter describes a maker selling EBOO kits built around hemodialyzer filters [34], and the 2023 ozone dialysis paper used a cellulose triacetate dialysis chamber [7]. Our devices guide and our comparison of EBOO and dialysis cover the equipment.
Two effects come from the way blood is returned in related procedures. Bocci, the Siena physiologist whose group reported about 800 EBOO sessions, describes tingling of the lips and tongue near the end of reinfusion in autohemotherapy, which he attributes to excess citrate anticoagulant given too quickly, and a sudden, marked fall in blood pressure when ozonated blood was reinfused quickly into patients taking ACE inhibitors, an observation he calls unpublished and says he confirmed in two patients [16].
Risks specific to ozone
Breathing it. Federal regulation says inhaled ozone can irritate the lungs enough to cause pulmonary edema, usually some hours after exposure [18], and a 1989 review found that ozone at peak outdoor levels causes measurable, temporary changes in lung function, symptoms, and airway inflammation in healthy people [19]. FDA has received reports of asthma attacks, headaches, and breathlessness from people using ozone devices sold to clean CPAP machines [20].
G6PD deficiency. A 1977 paper modeled what might happen to people with glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase deficiency exposed to ozone at levels reached in some cities, and predicted they may experience acute hemolysis, the breakdown of red blood cells [17]. It is a one-sentence abstract about inhaled air, not a study of any ozone therapy. Bocci lists a significant G6PD deficit among the situations that preclude or limit ozone therapy and says patients should be checked for it [16]. See G6PD deficiency and our contraindications guide.
Dose. The Siena review reports that a session of EBOO raised a blood marker of oxidation four- to five-fold without appreciable breakdown of red blood cells [4]. The 2026 scoping review links hemolysis and kidney failure to ozone concentrations above 60 μg/mL in autohemotherapy [21]. EBOO papers rarely state the dose a given patient received.
Complications reported in the wider ozone-therapy literature
| Procedure | What the published reports record | Examples |
|---|---|---|
| EBOO | No adverse event reported; no case report found | [1][3][4][6] |
| Major autohemotherapy (blood mixed with ozone in a bag or bottle, then returned) | Death from gas embolism; heart attacks; sinus arrest from high potassium; a hepatitis C cluster among patients; trials reporting no complications or brief facial redness | [22][23][24][25][39][40] |
| Intravenous ozone, as reported | Strokes and lasting cognitive problems after ozonated blood was returned; a death attributed to gas emboli after an intravenous ozone injection | [26][31] |
| Direct injection of gas into a vein | Four deaths from pulmonary embolism | [27] |
| Injection into or beside the spine | Strokes, blindness, spinal cord injury, cardiac arrest, infections, and deaths | [28][29] |
| Injection under the skin | Reversible encephalopathy | [30] |
The sinus-arrest case involved a woman with high blood pressure, diabetes, and chronic kidney disease whose potassium rose to 6.8 mmol/L after nine days of autohemotherapy; her authors hypothesize a link to the therapy, and her rhythm and potassium returned to normal with treatment [22]. In two randomized trials of autohemotherapy, one recorded no complications in either group [23] and one recorded temporary facial redness in 3% of patients [24].
Two patterns run through the serious reports. The neurological and heart events began during the procedure or within minutes, and most authors attribute them to gas entering the bloodstream; several patients had a patent foramen ovale, an opening between the heart’s upper chambers that the authors describe as the route bubbles took to the brain [26][28][29]. The infections followed both blood procedures and injections, and authors tie them to lapses in sterile technique [39]. The full list, by route and with each paper’s own causation wording, is in our adverse events guide.
What regulators and courts have recorded
These records use their own words, quoted here.
- New York, 2023. Upholding a medical examiner’s finding that a podiatrist’s patient died by homicide due to extreme medical negligence, the Appellate Division wrote: “The medical examiner also observed gas emboli and concluded, based on their existence in both small and large blood vessels, that they were attributable to the injection of ozone.” The court cites evidence that he injected the patient intravenously with ozone gas and that cardiac arrest followed within 15 minutes [31].
- California, 2024. A physician admitted an accusation that, during intravenous ozone therapy in 2020, a patient’s IV made sounds “indicating a potential air leak”, after which she lost consciousness and was diagnosed with air embolism and stroke. The Medical Board of California’s order states: “During probation, Respondent is prohibited from performing intravenous ozone therapy treatment.” [32]
- New South Wales, 2025. The Health Care Complaints Commission barred an ozone clinic from providing health services for five years, finding that its practitioner’s treatment “was, according to expert opinion, the most likely reason that she contracted a serious infection which led to septic shock”. It also found that he obtained heparin “from an unknown source” and “is not authorised to be in possession of, or to administer” it, that he tried to sterilize single-use items for reuse, and that he used a “Champion Full Spectrum UV device” not approved in Australia [33].
- FDA, 2025. A warning letter to O3UV, LLC says its “Champion Full Spectrum” and “EBOO Full Spectrum UV” autohemotherapy devices lack premarket approval or clearance, and that the firm “had no complaint procedure in place to receive, review, and evaluate complaints”. It notes that the firm’s EBOO kits included hemodialyzer filters bought from another company without supplier controls [34].
- FDA, 2024. On ozone CPAP cleaners: “The FDA has received reports from people who use CPAPs that they experienced unexpected asthma attacks, headaches, and breathlessness after using devices claiming to use ozone gas to clean CPAP accessories such as hoses and masks.” [20]
- FDA, 2014. A Class 2 recall of an ozone generator gives the reason as: “William Domb is recalling the Enaly 1000 BT-12 Ozone Generator because it is not approved or cleared by the FDA for medical use.” The record concerns marketing status, not an injury [35].
- Italy, 2005. The Health Ministry relayed the national health council’s 2003 opinion that no controlled clinical studies support oxygen-ozone therapy and that the method can cause serious and potentially lethal side effects (our translation) [36].
The FTC’s 2020 warning letters to ozone clinics concerned marketing claims about COVID-19, not the physical safety of the procedure [37]. The regulatory tracker holds every record with its exact language.
Signs described in the sources
MedlinePlus lists bleeding from the access site, redness, swelling, soreness, pain, warmth, or pus around it, a fever of 100.3°F (38.0°C) or higher, an arm that swells with a cold hand on that side, and a hand that gets cold, numb, or weak as reasons for people with a vascular access to call their provider [14]. In the case reports of other ozone procedures, the serious events showed as chest pain, fainting, a seizure, sudden loss of vision, weakness on one side, confusion, or trouble speaking, usually within minutes [26][28][29][30].
Questions to ask a clinic, and checks to run
Our guide to choosing a clinic has a longer list; these come from the sources above.
- Who places the lines, who supervises, and is a physician on site for the whole session?
- What happens if something goes wrong? Bocci writes that anyone giving ozone therapy should know basic life support and keep a breathing bag, medical oxygen, a defibrillator, and emergency drugs at hand [16].
- Which anticoagulant does the circuit use, and how much? What does the clinic do for someone who takes a blood thinner?
- What ozone concentration and session length does the clinic use, and is the filter and gas exchanger new for each patient?
- Which device is used, and what is its FDA status? Our guide to whether EBO2 is FDA-approved explains the terms.
- What should I watch for afterwards, and how do I reach the clinic after hours?
- Has the clinic had any adverse events, and did it report them to FDA?
Checks a reader can run: search FDA’s MAUDE database for the device’s name and read the MedWatch steps in our adverse events guide; look for the clinic or its physicians in our regulatory tracker; compare what clinics publish in our clinic directory; and build a list of questions for your own doctor with our doctor questions tool. Problems can be reported to FDA through the MedWatch form [38].
What we could not verify
- The size of the risk with EBO2. No study was designed to measure it, and no registry or reporting system collects EBO2 outcomes.
- The EBOO trial’s full text, which might describe side effects in more detail than its abstract, including in the comparison group.
- The ACE inhibitor observation, which rests on an unpublished report and two patients described in a book chapter.
- Whether today’s EBO2 equipment matches the Siena prototype. FDA’s 2025 letter shows at least one maker selling EBOO kits built around hemodialyzer filters from another company [34]. No study we found measured what such filters release into a patient during a session, the concern the Siena group raised in 2010 [42].
- Dose. Few EBOO papers report the ozone concentration given, so no dose and harm pattern can be drawn.
How this guide was made
We used 43 sources: the six EBOO papers in our library, three Siena equipment papers, one related study, fourteen other papers and reviews and one book chapter read through NCBI and Europe PMC, eleven government and court records, an FDA-approved drug label, two patient-education pages, and four clinic pages we saved on September 28, 2026, labeled clinic-stated. The table under “From our data” is computed from our study cards when the site is built, and the regulators’ records shown there come from our regulatory dataset. Drafting used AI tools. A human editor has not yet checked this guide claim by claim against its sources, and no clinical reviewer has signed off yet.
From our data
The procedure as the EBOO studies report it
| Study | Participants | Sessions | Session length | Blood treated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Observed Reduction in Urinary Toxin Excretion With Extracorporeal B..., 2025 | 1 person | Two distinct series of three sequential EBOO treatments; urinary toxin/creatinine ratios monitored at baseline, after series I and after series II | Not reported | Around 2 liters of blood processed in one treatment (clinic protocol) |
| Ozone dialysis delivers three or more times the ozone than other fo..., 2023 | 12 people | Not reported | exactly 1 hour | Not reported |
| Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation: clinical and biolog..., 2005 | Not reported | 14 sessions over 7 weeks (the standard therapeutic cycle) | 1 h per session | Up to 4800 ml of heparinized blood in 1 h of extracorporeal circulation |
| Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO): a controlled..., 2005 | 28 people | 210 EBOO treatments (per-patient schedule not stated in the abstract) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Necrotizing fasciitis successfully treated with extracorporeal bloo..., 2002 | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO) in man. preli..., 2000 | Not reported | six treatments (volunteer author); not stated for the patients | Not reported | Not reported |
Figures are as the papers state them, with their own units. All studies side by side.
What regulators have said
-
June 16, 2026, Agência Nacional de Vigilância Sanitária (Anvisa), Brazil: Nota Técnica nº 41/2026/SEI/GQUIP/GGTPS/DIRE3/ANVISA
Technical note from Brazil's health regulator listing the uses it recognizes for ozone-emitting medical devices: skin cleansing with ozonated vapour, local dental uses, and, only as an adjunct, bagged ozone-oxygen gas for diabetic foot ulcers and acute infected wounds in adults. It says devices may be sold only for approved indications, warns of severe harm from other routes or doses, and replaces Note 43/2022.
-
May 4, 2026, FDA, Office of the Commissioner: Is It Really 'FDA Approved'?
FDA consumer update on what "FDA approved" means. It says FDA does not approve health care providers, that registering an establishment or listing a device does not denote approval or mean a product may be legally marketed, that most high-risk devices need premarket approval, and that moderate-risk devices such as dialysis equipment are marketed through 510(k) clearance.
-
August 21, 2025, Conselho Federal de Medicina (CFM), Brazil: Resolução CFM n° 2.445, de 21 de agosto de 2025
Resolution of Brazil's Federal Council of Medicine authorizing ozone therapy as an adjuvant medical treatment for four kinds of wound (topical use only), knee osteoarthritis and disc-related low back pain, with facility and specialist rules. It bars use on cancerous wounds outside approved research, requires Anvisa-regularized generators, and revokes Resolution 2.181/2018.
-
July 7, 2025, FDA, Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research: Warning letter to O3UV, LLC (CBER 25-668840)
Warning letter after a 2023 inspection. FDA says the firm's Champion Full Spectrum and EBOO Full Spectrum UV autohemotherapy devices, which expose blood to ozone and UV light for UBI or EBOO, are adulterated and misbranded for lack of premarket approval or clearance. It also cites registration, UDI, and quality-system failures, and notes the EBOO kits included purchased hemodialyzer filters.
Frequently asked questions
Is EBO2 safe?
No study has measured how safe EBO2 is. The handful of EBOO papers, mostly from the Italian group that developed the method, attribute no side effects to the procedure in small numbers of patients, and none was designed to find uncommon events. Serious harms have been documented with other ways of giving ozone, so the honest answer is that the risk of EBO2 itself is unknown.
What side effects do clinics describe?
Clinic pages we read describe mild, short-lived effects such as tiredness, dizziness, bruising, or vein discomfort at the IV site. One Beverly Hills practice's page on EBOO lists infection, clotting, bleeding in people taking blood thinners, damage to red blood cells, low blood pressure, fainting, and vein injury as reported and potential risks. None of these pages gives counts of patients or events.
Can EBO2 cause an embolism?
No EBOO paper we found describes one. Gas embolism is the explanation authors most often give for serious events after other blood-based ozone procedures, including two reports in which ozonated blood, not raw gas, was returned to a vein, and a California case in which an IV line appeared to leak air. Whether EBO2's equipment changes that risk has not been studied.
Who should not get EBO2?
Sources commonly list G6PD deficiency, pregnancy, uncontrolled hyperthyroidism, low platelets or bleeding problems, and serious heart instability, and clinics add their own lists. Our contraindications guide compares what each source says and where they disagree.
How do I report a side effect from ozone therapy?
Through FDA's MedWatch program at https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/medwatch/index.cfm, using Form 3500B as a patient or Form 3500 as a health professional. Our adverse-events guide walks through MedWatch and FDA's MAUDE database step by step.
Sources
- Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO) in man. Preliminary report. International Journal of Artificial Organs (PubMed), 2000. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO) in man. Preliminary report
- Necrotizing fasciitis successfully treated with extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonization (EBOO). International Journal of Artificial Organs (PubMed), 2002. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Necrotizing fasciitis successfully treated with extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonization (EBOO)
- Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO): a controlled trial in patients with peripheral artery disease. International Journal of Artificial Organs (PubMed), 2005. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO): a controlled trial in patients with peripheral artery disease
- Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation: clinical and biological implications of ozone therapy. Redox Report (PubMed), 2005. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation: clinical and biological implications of ozone therapy
- Oxygenation-ozonation of blood during extracorporeal circulation: in vitro efficiency of a new gas exchange device. Artificial Organs (PubMed), 2007. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Oxygenation-ozonation of blood during extracorporeal circulation: in vitro efficiency of a new gas exchange device
- Observed Reduction in Urinary Toxin Excretion With Extracorporeal Blood Oxygenation and Ozonation (EBOO) Treatment in an 88-Year-Old With Chronic Anemia: A Case Report. Cureus (PubMed), 2025. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Observed Reduction in Urinary Toxin Excretion With Extracorporeal Blood Oxygenation and Ozonation (EBOO) Treatment in an 88-Year-Old With Chronic Anemia: A Case Report
- Ozone dialysis delivers three or more times the ozone than other forms of ozone blood treatment. Medical Gas Research (PubMed), 2023. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Ozone dialysis delivers three or more times the ozone than other forms of ozone blood treatment
- Ozone high dose therapy (OHT) improves mitochondrial bioenergetics in peripheral blood mononuclear cells. Translational Medicine Communications (PubMed), 2022. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Ozone high dose therapy (OHT) improves mitochondrial bioenergetics in peripheral blood mononuclear cells
- EBOO Extracorporeal Blood Oxygenation and Ozonation. Burick Center (Mechanicsburg, PA), 2026. Clinic-stated
- EBOO Therapy. Envista Medical (Bakersfield, CA), 2026. Clinic-stated
- EBOO IV Therapy. Enovative Wellness, 2026. Clinic-stated
- EBOO: Evidence, Risks, and Medical Consultation in Beverly Hills. My Concierge MD (Beverly Hills, CA), 2026. Clinic-stated
- Hemodialysis. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIH), 2018. Other
- Taking care of your vascular access for hemodialysis. MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia (NIH National Library of Medicine), 2024. Other
- Heparin Sodium in Sodium Chloride Injection: prescribing information (Hospira). DailyMed (NIH National Library of Medicine), 2026. Regulatory
- The Potential Toxicity of Ozone: Side Effects and Contraindications of Ozonetherapy. Ozone: A New Medical Drug, 2nd ed. (Springer), via PMC, 2011. Book
- Ozone: a possible cause of hemolytic anemia in glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase deficient individuals. Journal of Toxicology and Environmental Health (PubMed), 1977. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Ozone: a possible cause of hemolytic anemia in glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase deficient individuals
- 21 CFR 801.415 Maximum acceptable level of ozone. eCFR (FDA), 2024. Regulatory
- Health effects of ozone. A critical review. JAPCA (PubMed), 1989. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Health effects of ozone. A critical review
- Do You Need a Device That Claims to Clean a CPAP Machine?. U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2024. Regulatory
- Oxygen-ozone autohaemotherapy in fibromyalgia: safety profile and adverse events. A scoping review. Clinical and Experimental Rheumatology (PubMed), 2026. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Oxygen-ozone autohaemotherapy in fibromyalgia: safety profile and adverse events. A scoping review
- Ozone therapy induced sinus arrest in a hypertensive patient with chronic kidney disease: A case report. Medicine, Baltimore (PubMed), 2017. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Ozone therapy induced sinus arrest in a hypertensive patient with chronic kidney disease: A case report
- Combining Ozonated Autohemotherapy with Pharmacological Therapy for Comorbid Insomnia and Myofascial Pain Syndrome: A Prospective Randomized Controlled Study. Pain Research and Management (PubMed), 2022. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Combining Ozonated Autohemotherapy with Pharmacological Therapy for Comorbid Insomnia and Myofascial Pain Syndrome: A Prospective Randomized Controlled Study
- Effects of major ozonated autohemotherapy in the treatment of dry age related macular degeneration: a randomized controlled clinical study. International Journal of Ophthalmology (PubMed), 2012. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Effects of major ozonated autohemotherapy in the treatment of dry age related macular degeneration: a randomized controlled clinical study
- An unexpected death during oxygen-ozone therapy. American Journal of Forensic Medicine and Pathology (PubMed), 2000. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: An unexpected death during oxygen-ozone therapy
- Neurological Crisis Following Intravenous Ozone Therapy; a Case Report. Archives of Academic Emergency Medicine (PubMed), 2025. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Neurological Crisis Following Intravenous Ozone Therapy; a Case Report
- Ozone as Janus: this controversial gas can be either toxic or medically useful. Mediators of Inflammation (PubMed), 2004. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Ozone as Janus: this controversial gas can be either toxic or medically useful
- Cerebral gas embolism and multifocal ischemic stroke during oxygen-ozone therapy: a case report. BMJ Neurology Open (PubMed), 2024. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Cerebral gas embolism and multifocal ischemic stroke during oxygen-ozone therapy: a case report
- A Case of Paradoxical Embolism Causing Anterior Spinal Cord Syndrome and Acute Myocardial Infarction Following the Intradiscal Oxygen-Ozone Therapy. Frontiers in Neurology (PubMed), 2019. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: A Case of Paradoxical Embolism Causing Anterior Spinal Cord Syndrome and Acute Myocardial Infarction Following the Intradiscal Oxygen-Ozone Therapy
- Ozone-Induced Encephalopathy Following Subcutaneous Ozone Injection: A Case Report. Cureus (PubMed), 2025. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Ozone-Induced Encephalopathy Following Subcutaneous Ozone Injection: A Case Report
- Matter of Robins v New York City Off. of Chief Med. Examiner, 2023 NY Slip Op 00286. New York Supreme Court, Appellate Division, First Department, 2023. Regulatory
- In the Matter of the Accusation Against German Zermeno, M.D., Case No. 800-2022-088393: Decision and Stipulated Settlement. Medical Board of California, 2024. Regulatory
- Ozone Healing Clinic, Penrith: Time-bound Prohibition Order. NSW Health Care Complaints Commission, 2025. Regulatory
- Warning letter to O3UV, LLC (CBER 25-668840). U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2025. Regulatory
- Class 2 Device Recall Enaly 1000 BT12 Ozone Generator (Recall Number Z-1576-2014). U.S. Food and Drug Administration, medical device recall database, 2014. Regulatory
- Ossigeno-ozono terapia (nota N. DGFDM.III/P/1752/I.4.C.C.). Ministero della Salute (Italy), published by Regione Toscana, 2005. Regulatory
- Warning Letter to RowenSu Clinic: Unsubstantiated Claims for Coronavirus Treatment. Federal Trade Commission, 2020. Regulatory
- MedWatch Online Voluntary Reporting Form. U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2026. Regulatory
- A cluster of hepatitis C virus infections associated with ozone-enriched transfusion of autologous blood in Rome, Italy. Infection Control and Hospital Epidemiology (PubMed), 2005. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: A cluster of hepatitis C virus infections associated with ozone-enriched transfusion of autologous blood in Rome, Italy
- Myocardial Infarction after Ozone Therapy: Is Ozone Therapy Dr. Jekyll or Mr. Hyde?. Cardiology (PubMed), 2015. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Myocardial Infarction after Ozone Therapy: Is Ozone Therapy Dr. Jekyll or Mr. Hyde?
- Ozonation of blood during extracorporeal circulation. I. Rationale, methodology and preliminary studies. International Journal of Artificial Organs (PubMed), 1999. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Ozonation of blood during extracorporeal circulation. I. Rationale, methodology and preliminary studies
- Are dialysis devices usable as ozone gas exchangers?. Artificial Organs (PubMed), 2010. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Are dialysis devices usable as ozone gas exchangers?