EBO2 (EBOO), Blood Thinners, and Other Medicines: What the Sources Say and What to Ask

A small amber bottle without a label, a few white tablets, and a glass of water on linen

No study has tested EBO2 (also called EBOO) in people who take blood thinners, and no source we found sets out which medicines interact with it. What the sources do give is narrower: how the circuits are kept from clotting, what the label of heparin, the anticoagulant the EBOO papers describe, warns about, what one researcher reported with blood pressure medicines, and what clinics say on their own pages. This guide collects those, then lists the questions they leave for the doctor who prescribes your medicines, and everything the sources do not cover.

Ozone therapy is not FDA-approved for any condition; federal regulation calls ozone “a toxic gas with no known useful medical application in specific, adjunctive, or preventive therapy” [29]. Nothing here is a reason to start, stop, or change a medicine.

How the circuit is kept from clotting

Blood drawn into a bag or circuit is mixed with an anticoagulant so it does not clot there, as clinics describe it [16][17]. The papers in our library report the anticoagulant this way:

Procedure Source Anticoagulant as reported
EBOO Siena review, 2005 [1] Blood described as heparinized; up to 4,800 mL treated in an hour; no amount in the abstract
EBOO Siena trial, 2005 [11]; New York case report, 2025 [10] Not stated
EBOO development, with pig blood and sheep Bocci, 1999 [32] Tests with pig blood found heparin not an ideal anticoagulant for the system; the sheep experiments used sodium citrate (ACD) at a dose the authors defined
Ozone dialysis, a similar circuit Rowen, 2023 [2] A slow IV drip of 1 L of saline with 15,000 units of heparin; the authors say about 300 mL of it reaches the patient in the 1-hour treatment, with more used to prime and flush the lines
10-pass ozone König, 2022 [3] 200 mL of blood drawn into a vacuum flask containing 7,500 units of heparin; repeated for ten passes; whether heparin is added for each pass is not stated
Major autohemotherapy, as Bocci describes it Bocci, 2011 [4] Either 3.8% sodium citrate (1 mL per 9 mL of blood) or heparin (20 IU per mL of blood)
Major autohemotherapy studies [5][6][7][8] Sodium citrate in each, from 10 to 25 mL of solution per bag or bottle
Intravenous ozone session (case report) Wong, 2025 [9] 500 IU of heparin with 150 mL of ozone-infused blood

The pattern is heparin in the continuous circuits and in 10-pass ozone, and citrate in most single-bag autohemotherapy. The Siena group’s first paper on the method preferred citrate in sheep [32], while its later description of human treatment calls the blood heparinized [1]. Only the ozone dialysis paper says how much of the heparin solution reaches the patient [2], and none of the texts we read reports checking clotting times during a session.

The volumes differ widely. The Siena review describes treating up to 4,800 mL of heparinized blood in an hour [1]; the 2025 New York case report gives about 2 liters per treatment under that clinic’s protocol [10]; a Texas clinic says about 2 liters of blood are filtered in its one-hour session [25]; and the ozone dialysis paper ran its pump at 30 to 40 mL per minute for an hour [2]. The autohemotherapy papers above treated 100 to 225 mL of blood at a time [5][6][7][8]. The table under “From our data” shows the blood volume each EBOO paper reports.

Clinics describe the same choice. A South Carolina clinic says it uses a heparin protocol during EBOO to prevent clots in the circuit [16]. A Miami Beach clinic calls heparin a short-acting blood thinner used during EBOO, and its description of a glass-jar ozone procedure adds that its heparin comes from a porcine source [17].

What heparin’s label warns about

FDA-approved prescribing information for one heparin product, Hospira’s heparin sodium in sodium chloride injection, sets out these points [12]. They describe heparin in general; the label does not mention EBO2.

  • Strengths. Heparin is supplied in several strengths. The label reports fatal hemorrhages from medication errors and says to confirm the correct strength before giving it.
  • Who should not receive it. People with a history of heparin-induced thrombocytopenia (HIT), a serious immune reaction to heparin; people with a known hypersensitivity to heparin or pork products (the label also notes that the drug is derived from porcine intestinal mucosa); people with uncontrollable active bleeding; and, for full-dose heparin, people whose blood clotting cannot be tested at suitable intervals.
  • Bleeding. Hemorrhage, including fatal events, has occurred, and can happen at almost any site. The label lists conditions with higher bleeding risk, among them severe high blood pressure, hemophilia, low platelet counts, stomach or intestinal ulcers, liver disease with impaired clotting, and the period during and right after a spinal tap or major surgery. It reports more bleeding in women over 60.
  • HIT. HIT can cause clots in veins and arteries, and can appear up to several weeks after heparin is stopped. The label calls for monitoring the platelet count in everyone who receives heparin.
  • Other drugs. Drugs that interfere with clotting or platelet function may induce bleeding. The label names aspirin, ibuprofen, indomethacin, dipyridamole, hydroxychloroquine, dextran, and phenylbutazone among platelet inhibitors to use with caution. Heparin can also prolong the prothrombin time used to manage warfarin, and some drugs, including digitalis, tetracyclines, antihistamines, and intravenous nitroglycerin, may partly counteract it.
  • Potassium. The label advises measuring potassium before heparin in people at risk of high potassium.

How much heparin a given EBO2 session gives a patient is not published, so these warnings cannot be scaled to the procedure. That is a question for the clinic, and the answer is one to share with the prescribing doctor.

Who the studies included

A finding about harms applies only to the kinds of people studied. The 2022 autohemotherapy trial that reported no complications excluded people with severe disorders including hematologic disorders and coagulation dysfunction, people allergic to anticoagulants such as sodium citrate, and pregnant or breastfeeding women, and it checked coagulation in everyone it admitted [5]. The ozone dialysis measurements came from consecutive patients at the authors’ clinic with no exclusion criteria, but the paper reports no bleeding outcomes [2]. A 2026 case series excluded patients with contraindications to the treatment without listing them [7]. The EBOO abstracts we read do not say whether anyone taking a blood thinner was included [1][11].

Other medicines the sources mention

  • ACE inhibitors. Bocci’s book chapter reports a sudden, marked fall in blood pressure when ozonated blood was reinfused quickly into patients taking ACE inhibitors, an unpublished observation by other clinicians that he says he confirmed in two patients, during autohemotherapy [13]. He lists treatment with ACE inhibitors among the situations that preclude or limit ozone therapy [13]. No EBOO paper addresses it.
  • Citrate. In the same chapter, tingling of the lips and tongue near the end of reinfusion is attributed to excess citrate returned too quickly, a temporary drop in calcium [13].
  • Heparin with other ozone treatment. An evidence map of ozone therapy for COVID-19 lists nosebleeds associated with concomitant heparin use among the few adverse events in the studies it reviewed [14].
  • High-dose vitamin C. A 2022 letter is titled as a report of new methemoglobinemia after ozone autohemotherapy given with a high-dose vitamin C injection; we could read only its title [15].
  • Vitamin K. A Dallas clinic lists high-dose vitamin K use among reasons a person is not eligible for EBO2, without giving a reason [27].

What clinics say about blood thinners and heparin

Clinic What its page says
Enovative Wellness, Phoenix [18] Lists patients currently on anticoagulant therapy among those for whom EBOO is contraindicated; elsewhere the page says certain anticoagulants
Avena Natural Health, Solana Beach, California [19] Lists severe anticoagulation without physician oversight among conditions for which EBOO is not recommended
Bliss MD, Hanover Park, Illinois [20] Says EBOO is compatible with most prescription medications, and that chemotherapy agents and certain anticoagulants require additional assessment
Synergistiq Wellness, Clearwater, Florida [21] Says certain medications, particularly blood thinners, may need to be discussed, and that the physician reviews the full medication and supplement list
LIVation, Madison, Connecticut [22] Says clients prescribed blood thinners, blood pressure medications, insulin, or hormone therapy need to go over their treatments with its team
Venturis Clinic, Oklahoma City [28] Asks for current medications, particularly anything affecting clotting
BionwoRx, Carmel, Indiana [23] Lists people who cannot safely tolerate the anticoagulants needed to run the circuit as not eligible
in2GREAT, Overland Park, Kansas [24]; Roots Integrative Medicine, Marble Falls, Texas [25] List heparin allergy among contraindications
My Concierge MD, Beverly Hills [26] Lists bleeding in patients taking blood thinners among the risks of EBOO, on a page that offers consultations about it

Heparin is prescription-only in New South Wales, where the Health Care Complaints Commission found that a non-registered practitioner at an ozone clinic had obtained heparin “from an unknown source” and “is not authorised to be in possession of, or to administer” it [31].

These are examples from pages we saved on September 28, 2026, not a count. As of September 28, 2026, 127 of the 163 clinics whose EBO2 page we could read have an intake statement in our published dataset, the one quoted statement per clinic about what happens before a first session; 8 of those 127 mention medications, and none names blood thinners. A clinic’s intake page can be short and its screening thorough, so the questions below are worth asking either way. The clinic directory lists what each clinic states.

Questions for the doctor who prescribes your medicines

  • The clinic says its circuit uses heparin (or citrate). With the blood thinner I take, what would that add to my bleeding risk?
  • Is there anything in my history, such as a reaction to heparin, low platelets, or an allergy to pork products, that the clinic needs to know?
  • Which of my medicines and supplements affect bleeding, clotting, or platelets?
  • Would any of my medicines need to change around a procedure like this, and who would manage that?
  • Do I need blood tests first, such as a platelet count?
  • I take an ACE inhibitor. Is the report of low blood pressure with fast reinfusion of ozonated blood relevant to me?

Questions for the clinic

  • Which anticoagulant does the circuit use, how much, and how is it given: as a single dose, a drip, or added to the line?
  • Who prescribes the heparin, who gives it, and which product and strength is used?
  • Who sets the dose, and does it change for someone who takes a blood thinner?
  • Is clotting or the platelet count checked before or during the session?
  • What happens if a needle site keeps bleeding after the session, and how do I reach the clinic after hours?
  • Will the clinic speak with my prescribing doctor?

Our doctor questions tool builds a printable list of questions from our guides, including the contraindications guide. A bleeding problem or reaction after any ozone procedure can be reported to FDA through MedWatch [30]; our adverse events guide explains how.

What we could not verify

  • Any study of EBO2 in people on anticoagulants. We found none, for warfarin, the newer oral anticoagulants such as apixaban or rivaroxaban, clopidogrel, or aspirin.
  • Results for the people trials left out. The trial that reported no complications excluded people with coagulation dysfunction [5], so its result says nothing about them, and the EBOO abstracts do not state their exclusions.
  • Heparin doses in EBO2 practice. No EBOO paper we read states the amount, and clinic pages do not publish theirs.
  • Clotting checks during sessions. None of the papers reports them.
  • Whether the circuit’s heparin raises bleeding at the IV sites afterward. The ozone dialysis paper states how much heparin solution reaches the patient but reports no bleeding outcomes [2].
  • The 10-pass heparin total. The paper does not say whether the flask’s 7,500 units are replaced for each pass [3], so we give no total.
  • Supplements. No source we found addresses fish oil, vitamin E, ginkgo, or other supplements with EBO2.
  • The vitamin K rule and the ACE inhibitor report. The first has no stated reason; the second rests on an unpublished observation and two patients during a different procedure.
  • Clinics’ claims about compatibility with most medicines. We found no study behind them.

How this guide was made

We used 32 sources: fourteen papers from our research library and NCBI, a book chapter, an FDA-approved heparin label from DailyMed, a federal regulation, an Australian commission’s order, FDA’s MedWatch form, and thirteen clinic pages saved on September 28, 2026, labeled clinic-stated. The intake count comes from our clinic dataset as of September 28, 2026, and the two tables under “From our data” are computed from it and from our study cards when the site is built. Drafting used AI tools. A human editor has not yet checked this guide claim by claim against its sources, and no clinical reviewer has signed off yet.

From our data

What clinics tell you before you book

Of 163 clinics whose EBO2 page we could read, this many:

  • Publish a price 39 of 163 clinics, 24%
  • Publish a package price 17 of 163 clinics, 10%
  • State how long a session takes 96 of 163 clinics, 59%
  • Name the device 21 of 163 clinics, 13%
  • State who supervises 95 of 163 clinics, 58%
  • Describe what happens before a first session 127 of 163 clinics, 78%
  • State a recommended course 61 of 163 clinics, 37%
  • Name their clinicians 70 of 163 clinics, 43%

The full report. Read on September 28, 2026.

The procedure as the EBOO studies report it

StudyParticipantsSessionsSession lengthBlood treated
Observed Reduction in Urinary Toxin Excretion With Extracorporeal B..., 2025 1 person Two distinct series of three sequential EBOO treatments; urinary toxin/creatinine ratios monitored at baseline, after series I and after series II Not reported Around 2 liters of blood processed in one treatment (clinic protocol)
Ozone dialysis delivers three or more times the ozone than other fo..., 2023 12 people Not reported exactly 1 hour Not reported
Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation: clinical and biolog..., 2005 Not reported 14 sessions over 7 weeks (the standard therapeutic cycle) 1 h per session Up to 4800 ml of heparinized blood in 1 h of extracorporeal circulation
Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO): a controlled..., 2005 28 people 210 EBOO treatments (per-patient schedule not stated in the abstract) Not reported Not reported
Necrotizing fasciitis successfully treated with extracorporeal bloo..., 2002 1 person Not reported Not reported Not reported
Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO) in man. preli..., 2000 Not reported six treatments (volunteer author); not stated for the patients Not reported Not reported

Figures are as the papers state them, with their own units. All studies side by side.

Frequently asked questions

Can I get EBO2 if I take a blood thinner?

The published sources do not answer this. No EBOO study we found reports on people taking anticoagulants or antiplatelet drugs, and clinics' own pages range from listing anticoagulant therapy as a reason not to treat to saying blood thinners need discussion. It is a question to take to the doctor who prescribes the blood thinner, along with the clinic's answer about which anticoagulant its circuit uses and how much.

What anticoagulant does an EBO2 circuit use?

The published descriptions of EBOO in people and of ozone dialysis use heparin. A 2023 ozone dialysis paper describes a slow drip of 1 liter of saline containing 15,000 units of heparin and says about 300 mL of that solution reaches the patient during a one-hour treatment. Clinics' doses are not published, so the amount used in a given clinic is something to ask.

Is the heparin used in these procedures made from pigs?

The FDA-approved heparin label we read describes the drug as derived from porcine intestinal mucosa and lists known hypersensitivity to heparin or pork products as a reason not to use it. One Miami Beach clinic says the heparin in one of its ozone blood procedures is derived from a porcine source.

Do blood pressure medicines matter?

A book chapter by the Siena physiologist Velio Bocci reports sudden, marked drops in blood pressure when ozonated blood was returned quickly to patients taking ACE inhibitors, based on an unpublished observation and two patients of his own, during autohemotherapy rather than EBOO. Any change to a blood pressure medicine is a decision for the clinician who prescribes it.

Why do some clinics ask about vitamin K?

One Dallas clinic lists high-dose vitamin K use among the reasons a person is not eligible for EBO2. Its page gives no reason, and we found no published source that explains the rule.

Sources

  1. Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation: clinical and biological implications of ozone therapy. Redox Report (PubMed), 2005. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation: clinical and biological implications of ozone therapy
  2. Ozone dialysis delivers three or more times the ozone than other forms of ozone blood treatment. Medical Gas Research (PubMed), 2023. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Ozone dialysis delivers three or more times the ozone than other forms of ozone blood treatment
  3. Ozone high dose therapy (OHT) improves mitochondrial bioenergetics in peripheral blood mononuclear cells. Translational Medicine Communications (PubMed), 2022. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Ozone high dose therapy (OHT) improves mitochondrial bioenergetics in peripheral blood mononuclear cells
  4. Oxygen/ozone as a medical gas mixture. A critical evaluation of the various methods clarifies positive and negative aspects. Medical Gas Research (PubMed), 2011. Peer-reviewed
  5. Combining Ozonated Autohemotherapy with Pharmacological Therapy for Comorbid Insomnia and Myofascial Pain Syndrome: A Prospective Randomized Controlled Study. Pain Research and Management (PubMed), 2022. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Combining Ozonated Autohemotherapy with Pharmacological Therapy for Comorbid Insomnia and Myofascial Pain Syndrome: A Prospective Randomized Controlled Study
  6. Effects of major ozonated autohemotherapy in the treatment of dry age related macular degeneration: a randomized controlled clinical study. International Journal of Ophthalmology (PubMed), 2012. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Effects of major ozonated autohemotherapy in the treatment of dry age related macular degeneration: a randomized controlled clinical study
  7. Efficacy of major ozone autohemotherapy in patients with post-COVID syndrome. Frontiers in Medicine (PubMed), 2026. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Efficacy of major ozone autohemotherapy in patients with post-COVID syndrome
  8. Sjögren syndrome successfully treated with oxygen-ozone auto-hemotherapy (O2-O3-AHT). A case report. European Review for Medical and Pharmacological Sciences (PubMed), 2022. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Sjögren syndrome successfully treated with oxygen-ozone auto-hemotherapy (O2-O3-AHT). A case report
  9. Neurological Crisis Following Intravenous Ozone Therapy; a Case Report. Archives of Academic Emergency Medicine (PubMed), 2025. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Neurological Crisis Following Intravenous Ozone Therapy; a Case Report
  10. Observed Reduction in Urinary Toxin Excretion With Extracorporeal Blood Oxygenation and Ozonation (EBOO) Treatment in an 88-Year-Old With Chronic Anemia: A Case Report. Cureus (PubMed), 2025. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Observed Reduction in Urinary Toxin Excretion With Extracorporeal Blood Oxygenation and Ozonation (EBOO) Treatment in an 88-Year-Old With Chronic Anemia: A Case Report
  11. Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO): a controlled trial in patients with peripheral artery disease. International Journal of Artificial Organs (PubMed), 2005. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO): a controlled trial in patients with peripheral artery disease
  12. Heparin Sodium in Sodium Chloride Injection: prescribing information (Hospira). DailyMed (NIH National Library of Medicine), 2026. Regulatory
  13. The Potential Toxicity of Ozone: Side Effects and Contraindications of Ozonetherapy. Ozone: A New Medical Drug, 2nd ed. (Springer), via PMC, 2011. Book
  14. Clinical effectiveness of medical ozone therapy in COVID-19: the evidence and gaps map. Medical Gas Research (PubMed), 2023. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Clinical effectiveness of medical ozone therapy in COVID-19: the evidence and gaps map
  15. New-Onset Methemoglobinemia After Receiving Ozone Autohemotherapy and High-Dose Vitamin C Injection. Transfusion Medicine Reviews (PubMed), 2022. Peer-reviewed
  16. EBOO Therapy in North Charleston. Charleston Pain Relief Center (North Charleston, SC), 2026. Clinic-stated
  17. Ozone Therapy. Miami Beach Comprehensive Wellness Center (Miami Beach, FL), 2026. Clinic-stated
  18. EBOO IV Therapy in Phoenix. Enovative Wellness (Phoenix, AZ), 2026. Clinic-stated
  19. Extracorporeal Blood Ozone & Oxygenation at Avena Natural Health. Avena Natural Health (Solana Beach, CA), 2026. Clinic-stated
  20. EBOO Therapy in Naperville. Bliss MD (Hanover Park, IL), 2026. Clinic-stated
  21. What Is EBOO Therapy? Benefits, How It Works & What to Expect. Synergistiq Wellness (Clearwater, FL), 2026. Clinic-stated
  22. Ozone Therapy in Connecticut. LIVation (Madison, CT), 2026. Clinic-stated
  23. EBO2 Ozone in Carmel, IN. BionwoRx (Carmel, IN), 2026. Clinic-stated
  24. EBOO Therapy. in2GREAT (Overland Park, KS), 2026. Clinic-stated
  25. EBOO IV Therapy in Marble Falls, Texas. Roots Integrative Medicine (Marble Falls, TX), 2026. Clinic-stated
  26. EBOO: Evidence, Risks, and Medical Consultation in Beverly Hills. My Concierge MD (Beverly Hills, CA), 2026. Clinic-stated
  27. EB02 Therapy. Alive and Well (Dallas, TX), 2026. Clinic-stated
  28. EBOO Ozone Therapy, Oklahoma City, OK. Venturis Clinic (Oklahoma City, OK), 2026. Clinic-stated
  29. 21 CFR 801.415 Maximum acceptable level of ozone. eCFR (FDA), 2024. Regulatory
  30. MedWatch Online Voluntary Reporting Form. U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2026. Regulatory
  31. Ozone Healing Clinic, Penrith: Time-bound Prohibition Order. NSW Health Care Complaints Commission, 2025. Regulatory
  32. Ozonation of blood during extracorporeal circulation. I. Rationale, methodology and preliminary studies. International Journal of Artificial Organs (PubMed), 1999. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Ozonation of blood during extracorporeal circulation. I. Rationale, methodology and preliminary studies