EBO2 (EBOO) and Cancer Claims: What Regulators and Cancer Bodies Say
If a clinic has raised EBO2 (also called EBOO) with you or someone you love in connection with cancer, this page sets out the record so you can read it yourself: what our research library holds, how to repeat the literature search in a minute, what regulators and cancer organizations have actually written, and what to ask an oncologist. It is not medical advice, it cannot tell you anything about a particular cancer, and nothing here should be used to change or delay treatment. Its job is to make sure a decision about an expensive elective procedure is made from documents rather than from a sales page.
The answer first
There is no published study of EBO2 in people with cancer. Our library holds none, and the literature search below, which you can run yourself in under a minute, returns none. Several regulators and professional bodies have written about ozone therapy in connection with cancer, and every one of them has written against it. The clinics selling it are not citing trials, because there are none to cite.
What the literature search returns, and how to run it yourself
This is a check you can do without taking our word for anything.
- Open europepmc.org, the European Bioinformatics Institute’s free index of biomedical literature.
- Search for the procedure’s full name as an exact phrase, in quotation marks: “extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation”.
- Read the titles.
On October 2, 2026 that search returned 14 records [13]. They cover a controlled trial in peripheral artery disease [12], a preliminary report of the method in people, a necrotizing fasciitis case, reviews of ozone in wounds and in musculoskeletal medicine, a 12-patient case series measuring ozone uptake during ozone dialysis, ozone sensor technology, and a 2025 case report on urinary toxin excretion. None is a study of people with cancer. Widening the search to combine the procedure’s name with cancer terms adds records that mention cancer in passing inside general ozone reviews, not studies of the procedure in cancer.
The same holds in our own library, which annotates every study we hold with its design, population, and outcomes. No entry records EBO2, or any other ozone method, given to people with cancer. The block below lists every EBOO study we hold with the procedure parameters each one reports; reading down the “who” column is the fastest way to see what this literature is and is not about.
What the EBOO literature is actually about
The published EBOO record is small and concerns circulation and wounds. Its one controlled trial randomized 28 patients with peripheral artery disease to EBOO or to intravenous prostacyclin and reported on skin lesions, pain, and wellbeing [12]. The rest is a preliminary report in a small number of people, single-patient case reports, a series that measured ozone uptake in 12 patients, a review by the method’s developers, and a laboratory test of their device. Study sizes are in the single or low double digits, follow-up is short, and the outcomes are blood markers, wound healing, or symptoms.
One line in that preliminary report is worth heading off, because it is the only growth-related observation in the entire EBOO literature. The 2000 paper describing the first human use of the apparatus records that an author who volunteered to test the system noted the disappearance of two lipomas after six treatments [14]. A lipoma is a benign fatty lump, not a cancer; the observation is one person reporting on himself, with no imaging protocol, control, or follow-up described. It is not evidence about tumours, and anyone who offers it as such is misreading it.
That matters for a cancer conversation in a specific way. When a page says the procedure is “backed by research”, the research being gestured at is this: a handful of small reports about blood flow and wounds, from one group, mostly more than twenty years old. Transferring a result about leg circulation to a claim about cancer requires evidence that does not exist, in either direction.
What clinic pages say, in the aggregate
Our directory records what each clinic states about EBO2 on its own site, with the quote and the page, and we publish evaluative categories only as totals. As of September 28, 2026, of the 163 clinics whose EBO2 page we could read, 24 state a cancer-related benefit. That is the least common of the ten claim categories we record, well behind detoxification, energy, infections, and autoimmune conditions; the block below gives every category against the same denominator.
The wording in that category is worth understanding, because it is mostly not a direct treatment claim. The common patterns are: listing cancer among the conditions the procedure is used for; offering it as support alongside conventional cancer care or after chemotherapy; packaging it with other infusions in a named cancer-support bundle; and, less often, asserting that it improves how well chemotherapy works or acts on tumour cells. The last of these is the strongest kind of claim and the one with nothing behind it. We name no clinic in connection with any of this. The counts and the underlying quotes sit in our clinic directory and our data downloads so that anyone can audit them.
Two pieces of context belong next to that count. Ozone therapy is not FDA-approved for any medical use, and the federal device labeling rule states that ozone “is a toxic gas with no known useful medical application in specific, adjunctive, or preventive therapy” [9]. The word “adjunctive” in that sentence is the one that covers support alongside another treatment.
What regulators and professional bodies have written
Quoted exactly, oldest first.
| Who, when | What it concerned | The wording |
|---|---|---|
| Oregon Board of Medical Examiners, 13 October 1994 | Ozone therapy given to a terminally ill myeloma patient | The final order states, “The treatment of patient D.B. with Ozone therapy constitutes the use of unproved and unnecessary treatment”, one of four independent grounds on which the board revoked the physician’s licence [8] |
| FDA and FTC, 6 May 2020 | A clinic’s website claims, including that ozone destroys viruses | The joint warning letter lists claims “that are not supported by competent and reliable scientific evidence” and directs the firm to stop them [11] |
| Department of Justice, 24 April 2020 | COVID-19 claims by a Dallas ozone therapy centre | A federal court entered an agreed permanent injunction against the centre and one of its principals, barring them from representing that ozone could be used to treat COVID-19; DOJ’s release notes that the complaint’s claims were allegations [10] |
| Health Canada, 2 November 2022 | Ozone saunas advertised for uses including treating cancer | The advisory states, “To date, Health Canada has not received any submissions with evidence to support medical treatment claims for ozone saunas” [7] |
| Federal Council of Medicine, Brazil, 21 August 2025 | Which uses of ozone therapy doctors may offer | Resolution 2.445/2025 states, “Fica expressamente vedada a utilização de ozonioterapia para o tratamento de feridas neoplásicas em qualquer estágio, exceto em contexto de pesquisa clínica formalmente aprovada”: use of ozone therapy on neoplastic wounds at any stage is expressly barred, except within formally approved clinical research [6] |
Brazil’s resolution is the most pointed of these, because it comes from a country that does authorize ozone therapy. The same document permits it as an adjuvant for specified wounds, knee osteoarthritis, and disc-related low back pain, and then carves cancer out explicitly [6]. A regulator that was prepared to allow the therapy for several conditions was not prepared to allow it here.
What the cancer organizations say
The National Cancer Institute publishes evidence-based summaries, called PDQ summaries, on individual integrative, alternative, and complementary therapies, from acupuncture and cannabis to intravenous vitamin C, mistletoe, and a list of older topics it no longer updates. When we read that list on October 2, 2026, it contained no summary for ozone therapy or for any blood-ozonation procedure [1]. Absence from a list is not a verdict, and we do not present it as one. What the same page does say, as a general statement, is that although claims by providers of these treatments “can sound promising, we do not know how safe many CAM treatments are or how well they work”, and that “Some CAM therapies may interfere with standard treatment or even be harmful” [1].
The American Cancer Society has addressed this family of claims directly. Writing in its own journal, CA: A Cancer Journal for Clinicians, in 1993, it reviewed “hyperoxygenation” therapy, the umbrella term for treatments premised on the idea that cancer is caused by a lack of oxygen and can be addressed by exposing cells to more of it. The review names hydrogen peroxide, germanium sesquioxide, and ozone as the most promoted agents, describes the underlying concept as erroneous, and states that “there is little or no evidence that they are effective for the treatment of any serious disease, and each has demonstrated potential for harm”. Its recommendation is that people with cancer not seek treatment from anyone promoting any form of hyperoxygenation therapy as an alternative [3]. That paper is more than thirty years old, which we note rather than hide: it is the Society’s published position on this specific family of claims, and we found no later statement from it reversing that position.
The Society’s current patient material, written with the American Society of Clinical Oncology, draws the distinction that matters most in practice. Integrative therapies are used alongside standard treatment; alternative therapies are used instead of it. On the second, it states: “Research has shown that people who use alternative methods instead of standard cancer treatment for the most common curable cancers have a greater risk of dying from their cancer” [2]. The NIH’s complementary health centre makes the related point about delay, warning that fraudulent cancer treatments can be harmful in themselves and can also be indirectly harmful “because people may delay seeking medical care while they try them” [4].
How to read a cancer claim on any website
The FDA publishes a list of phrases it treats as red flags in cancer product marketing, drawn from its enforcement experience. Among them: “Treats all forms of cancer”, “Shrinks malignant tumors”, “Selectively kills cancer cells”, “More effective than chemotherapy”, and “Attacks cancer cells, leaving healthy cells intact” [5]. The FDA’s own framing is that legitimate drugs and devices intended to treat cancer must gain its approval or clearance before they are marketed and sold, and that products outside that process may appear harmless but can cause harm by delaying or interfering with treatments that work [5].
Beyond the vocabulary, five checks work on any page, for any treatment.
- Find the claim’s subject. Is the page saying the procedure treats cancer, helps with the side effects of treatment, or makes another treatment work better? Each is a different claim needing different evidence.
- Ask what is cited. A named, dated study with a link is a citation. A phrase such as “studies show” or a reference to a general mechanism is not.
- Check the population in any study that is cited. Cells in a dish, mice, or healthy volunteers do not answer a question about people with cancer.
- Check the route. Rectal, intramuscular, topical, intradiscal, and blood-circuit ozone are different treatments. A result for one is not a result for another.
- Look for the word “adjunct” or “support” doing quiet work. It usually marks the point where a page retreats from a claim it cannot support while keeping the impression of one.
Our guide to what the evidence shows applies the same checks to the whole EBO2 literature, our guide to FDA status explains why “FDA-registered equipment” on a clinic page is not an approval of anything, and our record of ozone adverse events by route collects what has been reported when ozone procedures have gone wrong.
Questions to bring to an oncologist
- Here is what the clinic says, in writing: does any part of it affect my treatment plan, my timing, or my eligibility for a trial?
- Could a procedure that circulates and filters my blood interact with my chemotherapy, immunotherapy, or radiotherapy schedule, with my blood counts, or with a central line or port?
- I have low platelets or I am on an anticoagulant: what does that mean for a procedure that requires anticoagulation of an external circuit?
- If my goal is the symptom this clinic is addressing, fatigue, pain, neuropathy, or appetite, what supportive-care options with evidence behind them are available to me here?
- Are there clinical trials I should be considering, and would having this procedure affect whether I could join one?
- If I decide to go ahead anyway, what would you want to know about it, and what would you monitor?
Some patients take the clinic’s own page, printed, to that appointment. The transparency block below shows how many clinics say who supervises a session or describe any screening before a first one. The questions-to-ask tool builds a printable list, and our clinic directory shows what each listed clinic publishes about its service.
What we could not verify
- Whether EBO2 has any effect, good or bad, in people with cancer. No study exists either way, and this guide makes no claim about it.
- Whether a study exists that our searches did not reach: one not indexed in Europe PMC, published in a language or venue outside it, or described by a name we did not search. We searched the full phrase and the abbreviations on October 2, 2026 and have given the search so it can be repeated.
- Whether the American Cancer Society has published a more recent statement on ozone or hyperoxygenation than its 1993 journal review. We found none on its current patient pages, and its current material addresses integrative and alternative medicine in general rather than ozone by name.
- What each of the 24 clinics in the cancer count means clinically. We recorded what their pages state, with the quote and the page; we did not ask them, and we do not evaluate individual clinics.
- Whether any of the regulatory records above has been appealed, amended, or superseded since we read them on September 28, 2026. The regulatory tracker carries the status we recorded for each.
- Whether interactions exist between blood ozonation and cancer treatments. The question has not been studied, so neither safety nor harm has been shown; that is an open question, not a reassurance.
How this guide was made
This guide draws on 14 sources: nine primary regulatory and government records, three peer-reviewed papers, one patient-information page published by a cancer organization, and one literature-database search, which is reproduced above so it can be repeated. The claim counts come from our own directory of 177 US clinics, read on September 28, 2026, with the denominator of 163 readable EBO2 pages stated wherever a count appears; the blocks below are computed from that dataset and our study library when the page is built. The literature searches were run on October 2, 2026. Drafting used AI tools. A human editor has not yet checked this guide claim by claim against its sources. No clinical reviewer has signed off on this page yet, and given the subject it should be read as a compilation of sources rather than as clinical guidance.
From our data
What clinics tell you before you book
Of 163 clinics whose EBO2 page we could read, this many:
The full report. Read on September 28, 2026.
What clinics' EBO2 pages say it does
Of 163 clinics whose EBO2 page we could read, 153 state a health benefit. By kind of benefit:
A statement on a clinic's page is a claim, not evidence. See what the research shows.
The procedure as the EBOO studies report it
| Study | Participants | Sessions | Session length | Blood treated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Observed Reduction in Urinary Toxin Excretion With Extracorporeal B..., 2025 | 1 person | Two distinct series of three sequential EBOO treatments; urinary toxin/creatinine ratios monitored at baseline, after series I and after series II | Not reported | Around 2 liters of blood processed in one treatment (clinic protocol) |
| Ozone dialysis delivers three or more times the ozone than other fo..., 2023 | 12 people | Not reported | exactly 1 hour | Not reported |
| Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation: clinical and biolog..., 2005 | Not reported | 14 sessions over 7 weeks (the standard therapeutic cycle) | 1 h per session | Up to 4800 ml of heparinized blood in 1 h of extracorporeal circulation |
| Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO): a controlled..., 2005 | 28 people | 210 EBOO treatments (per-patient schedule not stated in the abstract) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Necrotizing fasciitis successfully treated with extracorporeal bloo..., 2002 | 1 person | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO) in man. preli..., 2000 | Not reported | six treatments (volunteer author); not stated for the patients | Not reported | Not reported |
Figures are as the papers state them, with their own units. All studies side by side.
What regulators have said
-
June 16, 2026, Agência Nacional de Vigilância Sanitária (Anvisa), Brazil: Nota Técnica nº 41/2026/SEI/GQUIP/GGTPS/DIRE3/ANVISA
Technical note from Brazil's health regulator listing the uses it recognizes for ozone-emitting medical devices: skin cleansing with ozonated vapour, local dental uses, and, only as an adjunct, bagged ozone-oxygen gas for diabetic foot ulcers and acute infected wounds in adults. It says devices may be sold only for approved indications, warns of severe harm from other routes or doses, and replaces Note 43/2022.
-
May 4, 2026, FDA, Office of the Commissioner: Is It Really 'FDA Approved'?
FDA consumer update on what "FDA approved" means. It says FDA does not approve health care providers, that registering an establishment or listing a device does not denote approval or mean a product may be legally marketed, that most high-risk devices need premarket approval, and that moderate-risk devices such as dialysis equipment are marketed through 510(k) clearance.
-
August 21, 2025, Conselho Federal de Medicina (CFM), Brazil: Resolução CFM n° 2.445, de 21 de agosto de 2025
Resolution of Brazil's Federal Council of Medicine authorizing ozone therapy as an adjuvant medical treatment for four kinds of wound (topical use only), knee osteoarthritis and disc-related low back pain, with facility and specialist rules. It bars use on cancerous wounds outside approved research, requires Anvisa-regularized generators, and revokes Resolution 2.181/2018.
-
July 7, 2025, FDA, Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research: Warning letter to O3UV, LLC (CBER 25-668840)
Warning letter after a 2023 inspection. FDA says the firm's Champion Full Spectrum and EBOO Full Spectrum UV autohemotherapy devices, which expose blood to ozone and UV light for UBI or EBOO, are adulterated and misbranded for lack of premarket approval or clearance. It also cites registration, UDI, and quality-system failures, and notes the EBOO kits included purchased hemodialyzer filters.
Frequently asked questions
Is there any study of EBO2 in people with cancer?
We have not found one, and we looked in a way you can repeat. Searching Europe PMC for the exact phrase "extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation" on October 2, 2026 returned 14 records. They concern peripheral artery disease, a necrotizing fasciitis case, wound and musculoskeletal reviews, ozone delivery and sensor technology, and a case report on urinary toxin excretion. None reports the procedure given to people with cancer. Our own library holds no such study either.
Clinics describe it as support alongside chemotherapy, not as a cancer treatment. Does that change anything?
It changes the wording, not the evidence. A supportive-care claim is still a claim about an outcome in people with cancer, and it would need the same kind of evidence: a controlled trial with a prespecified outcome such as symptom burden, treatment tolerance, or quality of life. We found no such trial of EBO2. There is also a specific risk in this framing, because a procedure given alongside cancer treatment can interact with it, and that interaction has not been studied either.
What do the major cancer organizations say about ozone or oxygen therapies?
The National Cancer Institute's list of evidence-based summaries on integrative, alternative, and complementary therapies contained no summary for ozone therapy when we read it on October 2, 2026. The American Cancer Society, writing in its journal CA: A Cancer Journal for Clinicians in 1993, concluded of hydrogen peroxide, germanium sesquioxide, and ozone that there is little or no evidence that they are effective for treating any serious disease and that each has shown potential for harm.
Has any regulator acted on ozone therapy and cancer specifically?
Yes. Brazil's Federal Council of Medicine resolution of August 21, 2025 expressly bars ozone therapy for neoplastic wounds at any stage except within formally approved clinical research. Health Canada's 2022 advisory on ozone saunas listed treating cancer among the advertised uses and said no evidence had been submitted to support medical treatment claims for those devices. A 1994 Oregon board order treated ozone therapy for a myeloma patient as unproved and unnecessary treatment.
What is this page for?
It sets out the actual wording of the record, so that a conversation about an expensive elective procedure can start from documents rather than from a sales page. It is not medical advice and cannot say anything about a specific cancer. Some patients and families take it, with the clinic's own page, to the oncology team treating them; the questions at the end of this guide are the kind an oncology team can answer.
Sources
- Complementary and Alternative Medicine for Patients. National Cancer Institute (NCI), 2026. Regulatory
- Understanding Integrative (Holistic) Medicine. American Cancer Society, with medical review by the American Society of Clinical Oncology, 2025. Other
- Questionable methods of cancer management: hydrogen peroxide and other 'hyperoxygenation' therapies. CA: A Cancer Journal for Clinicians (PubMed), 1993. Peer-reviewed
- Cancer and Complementary Health Approaches: What You Need To Know. National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH), NIH, 2021. Regulatory
- Products Claiming to Cure Cancer Are a Cruel Deception. FDA, Office of the Commissioner, 2020. Regulatory
- Resolução CFM n° 2.445, de 21 de agosto de 2025. Conselho Federal de Medicina (CFM), Brazil, 2025. Regulatory
- Unlicensed ozone saunas may pose serious health risks to users and anyone in close proximity. Health Canada, 2022. Regulatory
- In the Matter of John E. Gambee, M.D., Final Order. Oregon Board of Medical Examiners, 1994. Regulatory
- 21 CFR 801.415 Maximum acceptable level of ozone. eCFR (FDA), 2024. Regulatory
- Court Prohibits Dallas Health Center from Touting Ozone Therapy as a COVID-19 Treatment. U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Public Affairs, 2020. Regulatory
- Warning letter to Center for New Medicine/Perfectly Healthy by Connealy MD (MARCS-CMS 605804). FDA and Federal Trade Commission, 2020. Regulatory
- Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO): a controlled trial in patients with peripheral artery disease. International Journal of Artificial Organs (PubMed), 2005. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO): a controlled trial in patients with peripheral artery disease
- Europe PMC literature search: "extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation". Europe PMC, European Bioinformatics Institute, 2026. Other
- Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO) in man. Preliminary report. International Journal of Artificial Organs (PubMed), 2000. Peer-reviewed Our notes on this study: Extracorporeal blood oxygenation and ozonation (EBOO) in man. Preliminary report